I Don’t Believe In “The One”

“It’s cliche to say that I have found “the one” – so I won’t. Eric isn’t “the one” for me, he is the one who chose me and who I chose back. Right now in this honeymoon phase of our relationship I feel like he is the one and only guy for me, however, I know that life happens and 10 years down the road from now I may have a baby on my hip, a completely different personality, and a husband that I no longer view as “the one.” Sadly, I may wonder at times why I ever thought he was “the one.” Once the initial romance fades away, I will realize that there are other men out there and I could have just as easily picked them as “the one” for me, but the fact is – I didn’t. I said yes to Eric. I vowed to be the one for him and him alone. Love is a choice. Sticking it out through the good times and bad is what makes you the one for each other. He’s the one if you said “I do” and took his last name. He’s the one if you vowed to always care for, love, and protect him. He’s the one if you have a ring on your finger and a commitment to each other and your family. Don’t lose sight of the one as the years pass you by and new, enticing individuals come around. The one doesn’t always look handsome or stay in perfectly good shape. The one might lose his job and have a rough season this year. The one may forget to tell you how beautiful you look on your seventh anniversary. The one is going to grow familiar and test your patience. But stick it out with the one, darling, you’ll find that if you leave the one you love for the one you like, the one you like will leave you for the one they love. Stay true to the one.” -Amanda Sue Cregier

I wrote this blurb for an Instagram account that I absolutely adore called Romance & Adventure. The Romance & Adventure blog is a Christian marriage blog on love, family, and other dreams. I strongly recommend that you check it out not only because it will put a smile on your face and bring tears to your eyes, but because it will continuously serve as an encouragement to your romantic relationships and relationship with The Lord!

Group

XO, Manda

 

One thought on “I Don’t Believe In “The One”

  1. Amanda!! I LOVE this. So so so good. You have such beautiful insight into what love is supposed to be. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

