Chameleon, No More

It’s 11:23PM and I’m in bed writing this post. I’m exhausted and should have brushed my teeth and washed my face before sinking into my cozy bed, but it’s Wednesday night and Wednesdays happen to be full of the “should have’s.” Maybe its midweek syndrome. You want a full disclosure confession that may change your mind about me? I skip brushing and washing before bed several times a week. It’s gross I know. I use the excuse of being too sleepy. That’s just one OF MANY of my defects.


brookside Is it Friday yet? I can’t resist chocolate no matter how hard I try. Currently shoveling handfuls of Brookside Dark Chocolate Crunchy Clusters into my mouth. Whoops. If you haven’t tried these, don’t. Seriously, unless you’re prepared to become an addict. And take note: I will fight you for the last one off these packages off of the shelf in Walmart no matter how wacky I appear.


Tonight, I hate to bearer of bad news, but … drum roll please – not everyone is going to like you.

The good news is: that’s alright.

If you’re anything like me, it’s a hard pill to swallow; not being liked, accepted, or even worse- feeling ridiculed. Because you care of what other people think, you try and adjust who you are (like a chameleon) to please people and avoid someone having a distaste for you. The problem with that is being chameleon is exhausting. Chameleon’s don’t enjoy life to the fullest because they’re too busy engrossed by thoughts of how to fit in, be accepted, and not step on anyone else’s toes. I’m learning that even when I take the chameleon approach there are still haters! Cue Taylor Swift.

With all of that being said, take it from me- being a chameleon won’t help this issue. In the long run it will have the opposite of the desired effect. Being a chameleon will turn people off. People want authentic and people want real. Screw what haters, jealous, or insecure people think and say about you…

Don’t use your time here to cater to other people’s egos by playing it small.

Stop watering yourself down to please others or to fit in the box someone else has placed you in.

Small minds can’t comprehend big spirits.

Being completely yourself and going all out for your goals isn’t easy. I’m learning that you have to be willing to be mocked, hated, and misunderstood.

Now, more than ever before, I’m really grateful for the people in my life that empower others & support each other – even when the dream seems like a stretch.

One of the girls who comes to mind when I think of who’s truly supporting me is a girl I haven’t even met face to face yet. Crazy, right? I’ve gotten so close to Gracen from My Style & Grace – she is a fashionista, encouraging, go-getter who is making waves out on the West Coast. I cannot wait to go visit her this summer! Check out her blog because it’s fun, pretty, and you just might learn a thing or two ;-)

XO, Manda

4 thoughts on “Chameleon, No More

  1. Hey Lady! Love the post! I completely agree, trying to placate everyone is hard and stressful! No need for it! —-and on another note, a lady whose blog I have followed for years is named Rosie and you should check her out! She does a lot of travel and now gets paid for it (wouldn’t that be a great lifestyle!) and writes about it in her blog! TheLondoner.me Enjoy! :)

Leave a Reply

