Saying Adios to My Students

Can you believe there are less than 30 school days left until summer vacation??? One minute I can’t believe how fast this school year flew by, but on the other hand I can’t believe how much has happened in the last 8 months. You know what they say, “time flies when you’re having fun,” and this year was so much more fun for me than when I taught at the high school last year. Don’t get me wrong, I liked teaching Spanish and I enjoy high-schoolers sometimes, but I feel like elementary is the best fit for me as an educator.

teaching hair

When your students come to school with matching hair, you document it of course! ; )

Some of my favorite moments teaching sixth grade this year have had nothing to do with the academics. I’ve loved building relationships with my students, talking to them one on one, seeing them grow up (physically and emotionally), being goofy together, sharing real stories of lessons I’ve learned in my 23 years of living, getting competitive, and dishing out advice.

Now that the bulk of standardized testing is complete, I’m trying to do shorter mini-lessons to reteach any skills that my students haven’t mastered. It’s challenging for a control freak like myself, but I am allowing the students to reteach each other and I chime in only as needed.

teaching math 2

Get them out of their seats, working together, hands-on! Though it may be a bit more noisy, they seem to digest more this way.

Recently, I had them create their own math problems (based on all of our previous math work) on large sheets of paper and hang them up, solving everyone else’s math questions and having the “teacher(s)” demonstrate how to get the correct answer. My kids really seemed to enjoy this role!

 

teaching math

I am a firm believer that the best way to master something is to teach it to others, so that’s what I have my students do. Be the teacher.

Before the end of the year, I strongly suggest all teachers participate in #IWishMyTeacherKnew challenge. One teacher in Colorado did this and it spread like wildfire in classrooms all over the United States. Several weeks ago I saw another teacher in my building had it written up on her whiteboard, so I decided to partake as well. I wrote “I wish Miss C knew…” on the board and had students take out a piece of paper and fill in the rest. Some were short 1-2 sentence responses, while others were a page long. They all had something in common though. They wanted me, their teacher, to know something deep and personal about them. Not one said, “I wish Miss C knew that my favorite video game is Call Of Duty.” which were the types of responses that I expected to receive. Some included confessions of things in their past, quite a few opened up about what’s been going on at home, and several told me how I have impacted them over the course of the school year. It was a really neat bonding experience and they didn’t have to feel awkward or forced into anything. I simply wrote that line on the whiteboard and had students complete it, reminding them that no one would read these except me.

teaching question

#IWishMyTeacherKnew …

The end of the school year can be full of headaches as it is hectic for everyone! Don’t underestimate the power of a deep breath and time spent in prayer first thing in the morning. I like to pray briefly in my classroom before the students arrive; for patience, joy, gentleness, the ability to discern wisely, and specific situations that I am aware of.

Make your quiet time a priority as you enjoy your morning cup of java or tea with this adorable Teaching Mug from The Night OwlProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Reasons to buy:

  1. It’s adorable!
  2. Can you ever have too many coffee mugs on hand?
  3. It’s only $12!
  4. You deserve it. Seriously, you’ve almost made it to the end!
  5. You could make your co-teacher’s day by gifting it before the end of the year.
  6. As a thank you gift for your child’s favorite teacher.
  7. To surprise your teacher friends with a thoughtful surprise present.
  8. Unlike most teaching things, it isn’t cheesy or tacky ;)

I’m giving away TWO of these super cute mugs to faithful readers/followers & all you have to do is share your favorite post from Talk Pray Shop on any social media outlet (twitter, Instagram, Facebook, etc.) & comment on this post with the link that you’ve shared as proof of your entry. The winners will be chosen & announced on my Instagram account & in a blog post on Wednesday, May 6th!

Share about this opportunity & Best of luck finishing up this school year! :) XO, Manda

7 thoughts on “Saying Adios to My Students

Leave a Reply

