Keeping Up With The Joneses Ain’t My Style

​I promised a blog post updating y’all on my life over the weekend, but ​that never happened because it was a jam-packed weekend and by the time Sunday night rolled around I was cashed out before 9 pm. The sun hadn’t even set and I was fast asleep. I guess that’s what happens when you run two 5k races, work with your 6th graders selling Nelson’s Port-A-Pit chicken, and spend hours coming up with new barre moves. I don’t know about yours, but my weekend went by in a flash!
ha

HA! Ain’t that the truth?

I am pretty accustomed to being on the go, but I definitely need my weekends of rest and relaxation to keep up this crazy fun life. Don’t be fooled by all of the Instagram photos portraying everyone’s best moments thinking “how does everyone have it all together, except me?!” It’s easy to get sucked into the mentality of comparison and use your neighbor as a benchmark for social class. Take it from me, I look at other bloggers and think “why am I even trying this anymore?” Then I remind myself that I don’t blog to compete. I don’t blog to impress. I blog because I love to write and share what’s on my heart. If only my mom subscribed to Talk Pray Shop, I would continue. Stop and realize that you are one of a kind. “Keeping Up With The Joneses” went out of style years ago in my book!
Next weekend Eric and I will be heading out of town for a wedding in Kentucky! I’m mostly looking forward to a road trip with my man full of good conversation, tunes, and Starbucks in hand. He won’t let me call it coffee anymore because he claims that my frappaccino is just a cup of sugar and flavoring. He’s right about everything. Have I mentioned that yet?

starbucks

My “coffee” ; )

Although I’m in a busy season of life, it’s a good one. Here’s a little recap of what’s been going on lately…


My future family planned a sleepover night to teach me how to cook and it was a blast!
new fam mol jacoby
My soon-to-be husband has been playing gigs around the area of South Bend and I love being his one and only groupie ;)
e fan friends
My Girls On The Run group finished a 5k race on Saturday!
5k GOTR

#RunLikeAGirl (with pink hair of course!)

Amidst all of the fun, my classroom is full of wild kiddos who were ready for summer yesterday about three months ago. Any other teachers out there counting down? THIRTEEN SCHOOL DAYS TO GO!!!


I am trying to consciously prioritize my time with God because I know that without Him, I am of no use. I mean that in all seriousness. When I go through life checking things off of my to-do list and having fun with friends, but haven’t spent time in His word – my attitude usually sucks. I may get less done today so that I am able to spend time with The Lord, but that’s better than getting a lot done and being a complete b*tch while doing it. That’s about as blunt as it gets. If I don’t constantly communicate with Jesus, I am not always the most loving person.

jess
My wedding is right around the corner (33 days to be exact!) and I know lots of other people who are getting married this summer. It is prime wedding season! I’ve been helping my aunt and a few friends shop for the perfect dress to wear to multiple weddings. No, you don’t need a new dress for each wedding you attend. Switch up your entire look just by swapping accessories, shoes, and hairstyles out and you’ll have a whole different style! Here’s my favorite dress [from Triple Thread OC] as of late because it’s super cute AND has pockets!!!
 Triple Thread-7Triple Thread-1Triple Thread-6
Triple Thread OC has the cutest dresses (including Maxis) for less than $30! triple ttt
I’ve been slacking on blogging about fashion lately, but the truth is my priority with Talk Pray Shop isn’t fashion. I love cute outfits and finding good deals, but I have so much more to say than “buy this super cute top I’m wearing!” And I truly don’t say that to offend any other bloggers out there. Fashion is fun, but what matters most is on the inside. That’s why I started writing Monthly Letters Of Encouragement. Someone emailed me recently asking if I would write a M.L.O.E. to her aunt because of a really awful series of unfortunate events that had taken place in her life. OF COURSE!!! Email me your address if you want to be a recipient of a M.L.O.E. or nominate someone you love to receive one during a rough time. I love writing and encouraging others because I have been loved and encouraged and I know what it does for the soul. Let’s spread the word about M.L.O.E. and create a domino effect of joy across the nation!
Thanks for catching up with me! I absolutely love comments and hearing about your life so please feel free to do that. If you’re a praying person, I would like to request that you pray fervently for my dad’s heart and lung health as he is still not recovered fully from his heart attack, and for my dear grandmother as she begins chemotherapy in the weeks to come.
You are amazing…
Don’t feel like you have to “keep up” with anybody else…
Do you & shine while you’re at it!
XO, Manda
3 thoughts on “Keeping Up With The Joneses Ain’t My Style

  1. I’d love to see a M.L.O.E. WONDERFUL IDEA. this may not be the place to leave my address, but there it is..53924 CR 39 Middlebury, 46540. Linda White

Leave a Reply

